2017 Royalty Parade Grand Marshalls | The Sugar Lumpssugar-lump-honoree-picture-2017

In early spring of 1956, Lester Mae Folse approached festival president Bobby Miranda about having a group of young girls ranging in age from 14 to 17 to represent the Festival Association. Mrs. Folse, having worked with the festival for many years with the outdoor pageants, coronations, and parades, the board members voted to sponsor the group. After several weeks, Miranda saw Mrs. Folse on the street and told her he had chosen a name for the group. We’re going to call them “Sugar Lumps” and they will act as Goodwill Ambassadors. The first six were selected and served September of 1956. Then one stipulation was they had to have a background in dance education.

Then it was history. The Sugar Lumps danced, and yes, even sang their way through Louisiana, Mississippi, Texas, Alabama, and Florida entertaining on the Goodwill Tours, parades, pageants, area festivals, and various functions through the years.

Being young adults, meeting and greeting people were life learning lessons. Through these experiences, they reached out in later years. Within the group, they have had a mother and her two daughters serve ten sets of sisters, and one set of twins. A selected group served Iberia Parish as Jr. Miss Iberia, Miss Iberia, Queen Sugar, Mrs. Iberia, three Shrimp Queens, President of the Festival, a board member and director of the Sugar Lumps, an MC for festival several years. Other accomplishments were professional singers, nurses, a law enforcement officer of the year award recipient, Andalusia Queen, Captain of UL Sweethearts, and three Stars of Style honorees. We have had education in elementary, high school, college levels and school principals, an I’Pal president, director and actress, also a high school musical director. Many have chaired and volunteered time in community fundraisers for several organizations such as United Way, St. Francis diner, Angel Paws, Church groups, and Shadows on the Teche.

Over 85 graduated in the Art of Dance and ten have owned and operated their own dance studio. In 28 years existing of the Sugar Lumps, 112 young girls served as Goodwill Ambassadors for the Louisiana Sugar Cane Festival Association.  Ted Viator grew up and danced alongside of the girls for many years. In 2016, Ted was officially made the newest Sugar Lump.

Thank you for welcoming us back.

Looking forward to seeing you in September for the 76th annual Sugar Festival.

Your Sugar Cane Festival Good Will Ambassador forever!





Original Sugar Lumps – 1956-1959

Robbie Dale Folse David, Faye Gary Fontenot, Gail Broussard Boudreaux,

Dianne McJimsey Gore, Miriam Baudoin Krepper, Phyllis Clair Leblanc Ledet


Sugar Lumps – 1960-1964

Charlyn Coleman Bouton, Pam Shaughnesay Brice, Linda Cross Ducombs, Charlotte Penn Gesser, Camille Laperouse Jarrell, Gloria Treybig Kanwit, Linda Lassalle, Sylvia Cestia Leake, Romona Alvarado McClaran*, Mary Kendall Mhoon Maginnis, Stephanie Stelly Tiller, Barbara Conrad Trahan, Brenda Reynolds Wheat


Sugar Lumps – 1965-1969

Paula Leleux Benoit, Shelagh Labiche Bensabat, Deanna Lopez Beslin, Elizabeth Powell Carlson, Andrea Armentor Comeaux*, Rita Cabrol Domingue, Eleanor Terrell Dore, Madelyn Coleman Dugas, Pam Custer Ellis, Dawna LaBauve Hebert*, Joan Firmin Judice, Tommie Bourque Knipper, Betty Landry, Marilyn Coleman McDonald, Pam Miller, Carolyn Doerle Schumacher, Paula Dugas Thibodeaux, Becky Landry Toups*, Margaret Hudson Walet


Sugar Lumps – 1970-1974

Donna Breaux Berard, Kathy Peltier Berard, Dana Hoover Bourgeois, Carolyn Leleux Broussard, Patricia (Pat) Provost Brown, Theresa Danna Cason, Tammy Charpentier, Christine Leblanc, Shelia Marks*, Kathleen (Kay) Kleinpeter Miguez, Bertha Terrell Myers, Peggy Landry Pope, Leslie Coleman Rice, Nancy Schneider Holtzclaw, Debbie Robicheaux Schneider, Nancy Romero Simar, Penny Boudreaux Smith, Elizabeth Terrell, Linda Gauthier Thibodeaux, Debbi Reeves Turner, Joni Perry Upton, Michelle Hebert Vincent, Ruth Winston Wildharber


Sugar Lumps – 1975-1979

Robin Thibodeaux Berard, Tina Leleux Boudreaux, Sandra Legnon Bourque, Terry Broussard, Lisa Champagne Broussard, Yvonne        Fontenot Broussard, Sedonia Delahoussaye, Bridgette Roseberry Delahoussaye, Charmaine Landry Delcambre, Julie Comeaux Derouen, Tracie Derouen, Denise Dugas Dickenson, Trisha Moore Dunaway, Jackie Badeaux Freyou, Carol Ann Powell Gachassin, Diana Charpentier Guilotte, Robyn Leblanc Hargrave, Gay Hebert, Christy Darcey Lannie, Patricia Fontenot Leger, Susan Sutton McFarland, Beth Migues Parsons, Sandy Colletti Pharr, Patti Reeves, Margaret Romero, Ann Lyles Romero, Monique Leleux Schaubert, Dina Sellers, Julie Boudreaux Tauzin


 Sugar Lumps – 1980-1985

Amy Viator Bolgiano, Karen Jo Comeaux Broussard, Evelyn Dautreuil Cichanowski, Susan Busby Degeyter, Patricia Duhon, Priscilla Gaspard, Rhonda Romero Goodland, Sandy Gros, Karen Lanie Lahasky, Mitzi Landry, Nancy Jo Melancon Meyers, Pamela Pepper Olivier, Raevin Borres Percle, Shari Prados Dressel, Cherie Morgan Quiring, Wanda Hebert Romero, Denise Sonnier, Jaynellen Miles Tannery, Lisa Ann Tucker, Jamie Johnson Bernard, Anita Denison Snoddy